East Africa Community

The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and the United Republic of Tanzania. Its headquarters are based in Arusha, Tanzania. 

Overall vision and mission

The vision of EAC is a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically united East Africa. Its mission is to widen and deepen economic, political, social and cultural integration in order to improve the quality of life of the people of East Africa through increased competitiveness, value added production, trade and investments.

HIV-related vision and mission

The EAC vision in the area of HIV is that of an East African environment free of HIV and AIDS. Its goal is reduced incidence of HIV infection in order to secure sustained socio-economic development in the region. Its strategic objective is to attain a healthy, HIV and AIDS-free population through coordinated and harmonised effort. 

The work of the EAC in the area of HIV and AIDS is guided by the 2008–2012 EAC Regional Strategic Plan for HIV and AIDS.

UNAIDS RST ESA-EAC cooperation

UNAIDS RST ESA supports the EAC with:

  • Strengthening its leadership, coordination and convening role
  • Partnership management
  • Resource mobilisation
  • Development of a strategic framework


Dr. Stanley Sonoiya
Health Coordinator
AICC Building, Kilimanjaro Wing, 5th Floor
EAC Close
P.O. Box 1096
Tel: +255 27 250 4253/8
Fax: +255 27 250 4255/250 4481
Email: sonoiya@eachq.org; sonoiya@yahoo.com; eac@eachq.org
Website: www.eac.int